Changes

IMG_5323.JPG

First, I apologize that this update is so late in getting out.  My last update was in May, as I prepared to enter the U.S.A. to renew my visa.  In that update I expressed my desire to purchase equipment for portable Christian film ministry.  Some of you came through in a big way.  Where I was having a backpack full with projector, computer, wires and cords I am now able to put all the equipment AND 10 bibles in the same backpack.  I also had enough to purchase ten Bible Study Reference book for my library, which I make accessible to anyone wanting to study the bible in-depth.

As the screen I made had only been used in a dark room, I discovered last week that it was not suitable for use in an open area.  I found some black out material and a seamstress to make a new one. Total cost: $18.00.

For those who did not know, I have changed YWAM campuses.  I am no longer with YWAM Guadalajara, but have moved to YWAM Mazatlan.  While I had visions of many things, which I believe God wanted done there, change cannot come as long as the administration is satisfied with where they are, both scholastically and spiritually.

While YWAM Guadalajara had two Discipleship Training Schools (DTS) in the last three years, with a total of 8 students,  here at YWAM Mazatlan there is a DTS every semester, with around 15 students in each one.  There is currently one DTS in lecture phase, and one on their 2 month outreach.  They also currently have a Biblical Worldview School in session and, in a week and a half, will begin the Bible School of the Nations course.

Each Thursday is ministry day, where every staff and student goes out on different ministry activities.  So far I’ve counted 8 different opportunities.  The one I have chosen is a kids ministry in a drug infested area directly behind our campus.  Last week we began a film ministry, similar to what I had going in Chalpicote.

There are two drawbacks of being in Mazatlan.  One is the heat & humidity this time of year.  One day it was 100 degrees (F) with 76% humidity.  I’ve been assured that it is only like this a couple of months of the year.  The other drawback is the cost.  Moving from a retirement area to a tourist area, I knew it cost more and had estimated that I would need $80.00 more a month.  As it turned out, my staff fees alone are $70 more each month.  Health insurance is also required here and I’ve signed up for Christian Healthcare Ministries at a cost of $45.00 per month.

As you may know, I really don’t like asking for money but, as you may have read in my blog, Things No One Likes To Talk About, I am in a new season, needing to rely on friends and family for support.  As it is, with my pension of $445.00 a month,and the two dedicated monthly supporters I have, I am at the bare minimum of $500.00 a month which YWAM Mazatlan requires it staff to have.  The goal amount is $800.00 per month.  This is to insure that staff have funds to leave the county for visa renewal every 6 months, set funds aside for leading outreach etc.

My fundraising engine is Acacia Ministries International which is a Christian 501c3  organization.  This means you can get a tax-deductible receipt at the end of the year.

As always I ask that you pray.  Pray for me, pray for each and every person I have a chance to encounter, whether telling about Jesus, teaching or mentoring.  Pray about my finances and know that, if you are led to donate, the funds will go to spreading the word of God.

I thank each and every one for your daily prayers and any donation you make, either one time or monthly.

God Bless.

In His service,

Dennis

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

